Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Exploring the World
22 novembre 2010

Bodø

When I left Sydney I flew straight home to Stavanger. Even though it had been over 2 years since I was last at home, I didn't stay long … in fact I was only there for 5 days before I boarded a plane and flew on. This time my destination was far north in Norway: Bodø, the first proper city you meet after crossing the arctic circle.

IMG_2102

Why am I here? To return to school. Until June 2012, I'll be studying to get all my maritime certificates, so that I can captain any ship on the 7 seas. Pretty scary to think that soon I can be in control of any ship from a super tanker to a cruise ship to a rescue boat … or a row boat, depending on how well I do in school.

PB190015

The boat above is Gaasten, an old Swedish minesweeper, belonging to a good friend of the family, Captain Stig Nilsen. Gaasten was my home for the first three weeks I lived in Bodø. I lived in the aft section of the boat in what used to be the old crew quarters.

PA180017PA180018

I was very happy to make a slow transition away from sailing, by moving straight onto Gaasten. It was however just a temporary situation and soon I had to face the harsh realities of not living with a keel under me.

After 3 weeks I found myself a nice little apartment in Rønvika and moved in. It's on the second floor of this house:

PB200018

I received plenty of help from Kjersti, who had flown up from Trondheim to hang out. I rented the apartment without furniture, but Stephen (a class-mate) lent me a stove, a fridge and two mattresses, so I wasn't left lacking. Well, a table could have been nice, but we made do and ate on the floor, like we did in Fiji a few months back.

IMG_2091

When the time came to chill out, we pulled one of the mattresses into the living room and since I'm also lacking a TV (thank God), we pulled out our tiny netbooks and watched the same movie, making sure we started them at the same time on both netbooks.

IMG_2094

We certainly weren't lacking in the candy department.

I think I'm going to write a book named gipsy living, because getting furniture for the apartment hasn't been a problem. The guy I rent from gave me a table and a couple of chairs, so I even have a kitchen table or desk to do homework on (depending on how you look at it).

PB180002

I mentioned that I borrowed a stove, fridge and mattresses from Stephen, well, Thomas (also in my class) lent me a huge leather couch, a big coffee table and a rug that pretty much covers my entire living room floor. On top of this all my kitchen stuff belongs to Kjersti, so basically the only things I own in the apartment are my clothes and … my clothes :-) Gipsy living. The funny thing is that I've been offered a TV by 4 different people. They can't believe it when I say no. I'm so happy not to have a TV. Most people think it is a life essential, but after living in China and especially after living on a sailboat, I can promise it is anything but essential.

PB200015

I live right next to the great outdoors. The picture above is a nearby mountain that's easy to walk to the top of. It gives a great view of Bodø. There is also really good cross-country skiing terrain, starting basically on my doorstep. I sense I'll be spending a lot of time up in the mountains... when I'm not in school, that is.

Publicité
Commentaires
R
Har följt ditt blogg ett tag och nu blir det ännu roligare när jag vet att du är en gutt:)<br /> fair winds lycka till med studierna
Exploring the World
Publicité
Derniers commentaires
Archives
Publicité